Obstetric Anesthesia

The Obstetric Anesthesia Section was the first specialty section to be instituted by the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society. Founded in 1980, the Obstetric Anesthesia section paved the way for other sections to be founded, many within the same decade. Since that time, insightful research has revolutionized the way Canadians practice Obstetric Anesthesia, with the section fully supporting programs and innovations that follow these changes. There have been changes in epidural analgesia, the administration of doses of local anesthetic by pumps, and the acceptance of spinal anesthesia—with apomorphine as the preferred anesthetic for cesarean delivery. Most importantly, management of the obstetric airway has become much safer with knowledge and advances in airway technology.

Obstetric Chair(s)

Dr Wesley Edwards

Section Executive

  • Dr Lorraine Chow, Vice Chair
  • Dr Valerie Zaphiratos, Past Chair
  • Dr Anthony Chau, Secretary-Treasurer

Social Media

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CAS_OBSection